- iPhone is disabled (edited from “5 minutes”)
What will it be like if insert wrong passcode successively on normal iPhone or iPad?
Whichever message you’re getting, the cause is the same. An iPod or iPhone gets disabled when someone has entered in an incorrect passcode too many times.
The passcode is actually a secure-security measure that you can turn on in the iOS to require people to enter a password in order to use the device, enhancing your privacy. If an incorrect passcode is entered 6 times consecutively, the device will lock itself and prevent you from entering any new passcode attempts. If you enter an incorrect passcode many more than 6 times, you may get the 23 million minutes message; or more.
This isn’t actually the real amount of time you need to wait. That message just represents a really, really long time and is designed to get you to just take a break from trying passcodes.
If you’re seeing that message, that means someone—maybe you, but maybe not (which is potentially a warning sign)—has entered the wrong passcode at least 6 times in a row.
You might get a message “iTunes cannot connect to iPhone because it needs a passcode”, but its up to you to make the right choices.[the_ad_placement id=”after-content”]
The Bitter Truth:
To get your disabled iphone back on its feet, you would have to erase all the data on it.
Fixing a Disabled iPhone or iPod
Fixing a disabled iPhone, iPod, or iPad is relatively easy. it’s actually the same set of steps as what to do when you forget your passcode.
- The first step you should try is to restore the device from backup. To do that, connect your iOS device to the computer you sync it to. In iTunes, click the Restore button. Follow the onscreen instructions and in a few minutes, your device should be usable again. Be aware, though, that this means you’ll be replacing your current data with an older backup and will lose any data added since the backup was made.
- If that doesn’t work, or if you’ve never synced your device with iTunes, you need to try Recovery Mode. Again, you may lose data added since you backed up last.
- One of those two steps will usually work, but if they don’t, try DFU Mode, which is a more extensive version of Recovery Mode.
- Another good option involves using iCloud and Find My iPhone to erase all data and settings from your phone. Either log in to iCloud or download the Find My iPhone app (opens in iTunes) to the second iOS device. Then log in with your iCloud username and password (not the account belonging to the person whose device you’re using). Use Find My iPhone to locate your device and then perform a Remote Wipe of it. This will delete all of the data on your device, so only do it if you’ve got all your data backed up, but it will also reset your phone so you can access it again. If you’ve been backing up your data to iCloud or iTunes, you can restore from that and be good to go.
I had a iPhone 4 that was disabled and here was how I fixed it for the customer:
- I got to the recovery mode: By pressing the power button+home button till the screen went off and immediately releasing the power button while still holding on to the home button till it shows a connect to itunes sign:
- You’ll be asked to restore, or update. First of all, update it (in case it is not updated). Then, after a successful update, go through number one and click restore.
- Wait for the restoration process to complete- after which your iphone has been enabled back.[the_ad id=”2430″]
What To Do After Fixing a Disabled iPhone
Once your iPod, iPhone, or iPad is back in working order, you may want to consider two things: setting a new passcode that’s much easier to remember so you don’t get into this situation again and/or keeping an eye on your device to make sure people you don’t want using it aren’t trying to get at your information.